UNOY Peacebuilders is managed by a small youth-led secretariat in The Hague, the Netherlands. The secretariat has four staff members and usually three or four interns, trainees and volunteers as well who stay with us for 4-6 months. If you are interested in joining our team, visit the Join us page for information on current opportunities.


Imre Veeneman, Programme coordinator

Responsibilities: Capacity development program.

Gizem Kilinc, Leading coordinator

Responsibilities: Joint leadership of the network; Advocacy.

Sölvi Karlsson, Leading coordinator

Responsibilities: Joint leadership of the network; Strategic planning; Network management.

Bart Horeman, Financial coordinator

Responsibilities: Financial planning; Bookkeeping; Donor relations.

Interns, trainees and volunteers

  • Marie Cucurella | Project Officer |
  • Sofia Achame | Network Officer |
  • Viktoria Salikhova | Advocacy Officer |


An important part of UNOY Peacebuilders’ work is to ensure youth participation in discussions about peace and security at the international level. Much of this work is carried out by our Youth Advocacy Teams, international teams of young peacebuilders who engage with international decision makers:

  • The Youth Advocacy Team focuses on the international policy discussion about youth, peace and security. They have played a key role in shaping this conversation so far, including through advocating for UN Security Council resolution 2250.
  • The European Youth Advocacy Team has put young people’s role in peacebuilding on the agenda in Europe. They engage with the various bodies of the European Union and the Council of Europe to influence European policy both within and outside of Europe.

We are currently in the process of setting up additional regional youth advocacy teams to start conversations with regional intergovernmental bodies.


The International Steering Group is a democratically elected body consisting of six individuals from UNOY member organisations. Members of the International Steering Group are elected on a regional basis ensuring representation from different regions of the network. Their main responsibilities are strategic planning and setting thematic priorities based on feedback from the network. Individuals can sit for two terms of two years maximum after which they must step down.

Rashid Zuberu
West Africa
Young Peace Brigades, Ghana
Chigi Sharon
East Africa
Centre For Legal Rights Education Advocacy And Development, Kenya
Tilottam Paudel
Jagriti Child And Youth Concern, Nepal
Marcelo Velazquez
OAJNU, Argentina
Tiphaine Coulardeau
European Intercultural Forum, Germany
Aya Chebbi
Middle East and North Africa
World Peace Initiative


The board represents the legal body of UNOY Peacebuilders and are responsible for approving annual plans and budgets. Board members are all based in the Netherlands and they meet six times a year together with the International Secretariat. Board members can serve a maximum of two, two year periods before they must step down. Board members are not remunerated for their work.

    • Len Middelbeek, co-chair
    • Laura Lasance, co-chair
    • Bryant Heng, treasurer
    • Jenny Aulin
    • Siebrich Visser
    • Rojan Bolling
    • Gesa Bent

We also have three honourary chairs who all played a vital role in making UNOY Peacebuilders the network it is today:

    • Nikolai N. Firjubin
    • Rabby A. Soetendorp
    • Maria Kooijman